Гора Арарат

Эта гора является самым высоким вулканическим массивом, относится к стратовулканам (5165 м). Турецкое название Арарата — Агрыда́г или Агры-Даг, последний конус в цепи вулканов, которые маршируют по голой саванне центральной анатолийской равнины.
Агрыда́г (Арарат) находиться на территории Турции. В 33 км от иранской границы, которая огибает по периметру своего младшего брата, Кучук Агри, в нескольких километрах к югу от армянского города Еревана. Это самый высокий и труднодоступный район страны. Здесь находятся её высшие точки: потухшие вулканы Большой Арарат и Сюпхан (4058 м), а также действующий вулкан Немрут. Поднимающаяся от Средиземноморья линия гор включает в себя Эрджиес, Хасан, Сюпхан и Немрут; все из базальта с огромными блоками, осыпавшимися на нижние склоны. Широкие кратеры укрывают озера, минеральные источники и пышные пастбища для выгула скота. Немрут расположен в непосредственной близости от озера Ван. Вершина вулкана представляет собой крупную кальдеру, в которой образовалось озеро.
В противоположность этому, Agri представляет собой почти идеальный конус, только с небольшим вмятины на северо-восточной стороне и глубоко эродированную долину под названием Cehennem Deresi – “Долина Ада”.

Гладкая конус Агри был центром Урарту у армянских цивилизаций и является легендарным местом отдыха Ноева ковчега. Название Арарат происходит от ассирийского названия города Урарту (используется в библейских текстах), Агри может происходить от арабского Ahora, что является названием деревни и ледника на северо-западных склонах. С расстояния Agri является гладким конусом Рождественского пудинга, увенченного снегом, который в зимний период распространяется с пика, как белый соус.

Южный маршрут в горах представлен тремя днями подьема и одним днем спуска, лагерь разбивается на двух высотах 3200 м и 4200 м. При перевозке основных вещей до первого лагеря мы воспользуемся помощью местных мулов. Путь каменистый, но четко обозначен. Поднявшись на высоту свыше 5000 м поверхность везде ледяная, так что нам понадобятся «кошками/крампоны», ледорубы и веревки. Вершина достигается через длинный хребет.

Примечание: процедура получения разрещения может занять до 2х месяцев и иметь разные бюрократические трудности.

Mount Ararat

The extinct volcano, Agri Dagi (Mount Ararat) at 5,165 metres is the highest peak in Turkey. It is the final cone in the chain of volcanoes which march across the bare savannah of the central Anatolian plain.

Agri (Ararat) is only just inside Turkey; 33 km from the Iranian border, which curves around the perimeter of its little brother, Küçük Agri, and a few km south of the Armenian town of Yerevan. Rising out of the Mediterranean, the volcanic line includes Erciyes, Hasan, Süphan, and Nemrut Daglari; all are of basalt, with huge blocks sometimes strewing the lower slopes, and andesite at higher altitude. But the cones themselves vary; Süphan, at 4,058 metres, miraging out of the surface of Lake Van, has a comparatively gentle gradient like Agri but with more intervening false summits. The wide crater shelters lakes, warm water mineral springs, and lush grazing to flocks for long seasons.Nemrut, whose eruption blocked the outlet of the Lake Van basin, raising the lake to its present level, also has a crater lake. In contrast, Agri is an almost perfect cone, with just a slight dent in the north-east side and a deeply eroded valley called Cehennem Deresi; “Valley of Hell”.

The smooth cone of Agri was the focus of Urartu and Armenian civilisations and is the legendary resting place of Noah’s ark. The name Ararat was the Assyrian word for Urartu; Agri may derive from the Arabic Ahora, the name of a village and glacier on the north-west slopes. From the distance, Agri is a smooth cone of Christmas pudding topped by permanent snow which in winter spreads to smother the peak in sparkling white sauce.
At most seasons the brandy is lit, and the peak gives off a plume of smoke, swirling into rings of cloud. On the approach, crossing the savannahs, are the currants in the pudding-blackened boulders and ash thrown off by past eruptions, the last in 1840.

The southern route spreads the climb over three days up and one day down, using two campsites at 3,200m and 4,200 metres, and mules to carry supplies to the first camp. It starts from Eliköyü, an abandoned village in the foothills and sticks to a ridge for much of the way, thus avoiding the Ulker glacier which careers down the face into deep and jumbled gorges below. The path, though rocky, is clearly marked. Above 5000m are permanent icefields, so crampons, ice axes and ropes are required. The summit is reached via a long ridge and is no more than a rounded hump marked by cairns.

Note: Permission procedure may take up to 2 month and there may be additionally bureaucratic difficulties…